Ruby Receptionist Alternatives: Cheaper Live and AI Options for Trades Businesses
By BRIX Editorial Team · Updated
The closest Ruby alternatives are PATLive and Abby Connect, which also put live receptionists on your calls for less per minute, and Smith.ai, which bills per call and adds AI. If you don't need a person on every call, AI answering services like Sameday or Frontdesk cost a fraction as much but can't match human judgment.
Key takeaways
- Ruby charges $250/mo for 50 minutes up to $1,725/mo for 500 minutes, which works out to $5.00 down to $3.45 per included minute (checked October 19, 2026).
- PATLive's comparable plans run about $1.98 to $1.52 per included minute, with 24/7 coverage and Spanish at no extra cost.
- Ruby doesn't publish its overage rate or contract terms on its pricing page. Ask before you sign.
- Ruby's strengths are real: polished live receptionists 24/7, bilingual handling, no setup fees and AI tools at no extra cost.
- AI answering is cheaper per minute by a wide margin, but works best for routine booking calls, not upset or confused callers.
Why look for a Ruby alternative?
For most contractors, it's the per-minute math. Ruby is a well-regarded human receptionist service, and its prices reflect that. A busy week of storm or no-heat calls can blow through a 200-minute plan, and Ruby's pricing page doesn't say what an extra minute costs. Trades calls also run long: address, problem, access instructions, and "can you come today?" all eat minutes.
What Ruby really costs per minute
| Ruby plan | Monthly price | Minutes | Cost per included minute |
|---|---|---|---|
| Startup | $250 | 50 | $5.00 |
| One-person business | $395 | 100 | $3.95 |
| Small business (most popular) | $720 | 200 | $3.60 |
| Larger and growing | $1,725 | 500 | $3.45 |
Ruby does include a lot in that price: 24/7 live answering including weekends and holidays, Spanish and bilingual call handling, AI-powered transcripts and sentiment analysis, and, in Ruby's words, "no additional or hidden fees for activation, onboarding, setup, customization." The question is whether you need that level of polish on every call.
Ruby alternatives at a glance
| Service | Who answers | Entry plan | Cost per included minute | Spanish | Contract |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ruby | Live receptionists, 24/7 | $250 for 50 min | $3.45–$5.00 | Yes | Not stated |
| PATLive | Live agents, 24/7, no AI | $99 for 50 min | $1.52–$1.98 (50–500 min plans) | Included | No contracts; 14-day free trial |
| Abby Connect | Live, AI or both | $164 for 50 Abby Minutes | $2.76–$3.29 (AI minutes use half) | English and Spanish | Month-to-month; free trial |
| Smith.ai | Live 24/7, or AI with live handoff | $300 for 30 calls (human); $150 for 75 calls (AI) | Billed per call | Spanish line $1.00/call | Month-to-month |
| Sameday | AI built for home services | From $449 for 500 min | About $0.90 (Launch) or $0.79 (Scale) | Multilingual on Enterprise | Not stated |
| Frontdesk | AI phone and text agent | $99 for 200 min ($79 billed annually) | About $0.50; $0.25 per extra minute | Not stated | No contracts; 7-day trial |
| BRIX | AI receptionist for trades, plus follow-up and invoicing | Quoted per business | Quoted | Not stated | Month-to-month |
PATLive: the like-for-like swap at lower cost
If you like having real people on your phones and just want to pay less, start with PATLive. It has live agents 24/7 on every plan, bilingual service at no extra charge, no contracts and a 14-day free trial. The 200-minute plan is $349 against Ruby's $720, and overage is published ($1.99 a minute on that plan). PATLive states it doesn't use AI to answer calls, which some owners prefer. Government taxes and fees are added on top.
Watch for: at high volume, per-minute bills climb fast either way. Time a week of calls before choosing a bucket.
Abby Connect: human or AI, from one bucket
Abby Connect sells Abby Minutes from $164/mo for 50 to $1,380/mo for 500. A human-answered minute uses one Abby Minute; an AI-answered minute uses half. That lets you put routine after-hours calls on AI and keep people on daytime calls without two vendors. Plans are month-to-month with a free trial, no setup fee and no weekend upcharge. Its per-minute cost sits between PATLive and Ruby.
Smith.ai: per-call pricing and an AI front door
Smith.ai bills per call rather than per minute, which flips the math: long trades calls cost the same as short ones. Human-first plans are $300/mo for 30 calls, $810 for 90 and $2,100 for 300, staffed 24/7. Its AI Receptionist Pro is $150/mo for 75 calls and can transfer to a live receptionist. Booking into a calendar on human plans adds $1.50 per call. More detail is on our Smith.ai alternatives page.
Sameday: AI built around home service calls
Sameday is an AI answering service aimed at home service businesses. Launch starts at $449/mo for 500 minutes with unlimited users and up to 3 locations; Scale starts at $789/mo for 1,000 minutes. It names ServiceTitan as a scheduling integration. There's no free trial; you book a demo. It suits multi-truck shops that want AI on every call and use ServiceTitan.
Frontdesk: the low-cost AI option
Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk) is $99/mo, or $79/mo billed annually, for 200 voice minutes plus texts, web chat and outbound calls, with extra voice minutes at $0.25 through prepaid credits. It's built for owners handling roughly 1–10 interactions a day and connects to calendars and CRMs through Zapier. There's a 7-day trial and no contract.
BRIX: when you want the call to become a booked, invoiced job
Ruby takes great messages and can follow your script. BRIX is built to take the next steps too: put the job on the schedule, follow up the estimate, send the invoice and sync it to QuickBooks. BRIX doesn't offer live human receptionists. If your callers expect a person, or you serve many elderly or upset callers, Ruby, PATLive or Abby Connect is the better fit.
Who should stick with Ruby?
Stay with Ruby if your brand depends on a warm, consistent human voice: high-end remodelers, custom builders, and service companies whose customers are often older homeowners. Ruby's bilingual coverage and no-setup-fee policy also make it easy to keep. If cost is the only issue, try moving routine after-hours calls to AI and keeping Ruby on a smaller plan rather than leaving outright.
Moving off Ruby: what to do first
- Ask Ruby about notice and final billing. Contract terms aren't on the pricing page, so confirm your notice period and last bill date before signing with someone else.
- Time a week of calls. Pull your Ruby call logs and average call length. That number decides whether per-minute, per-call or flat AI pricing is cheapest for you.
- Copy your script and call rules. Save greetings, FAQs, emergency transfer rules and who gets which messages. The new service needs them on day one.
- Switch forwarding, not numbers. Most services answer via call forwarding from your existing number, so you usually keep your number. Test daytime, after-hours and overflow forwarding.
- Decide where messages go. Send bookings to your calendar or field service software rather than email, so jobs don't sit unread. Our answering service cost calculator helps you compare plans.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Ruby Receptionist cost?
As of October 19, 2026, Ruby's virtual receptionist plans are $250/mo for 50 minutes, $395 for 100, $720 for 200 and $1,725 for 500. Ruby says there are no setup or onboarding fees. Its pricing page doesn't list overage rates or contract terms.
What is cheaper than Ruby Receptionist?
PATLive is the cheapest live alternative here, at $99/mo for 50 minutes and $349 for 200 minutes. Abby Connect starts at $164/mo for 50 minutes. AI services cost less again, such as Frontdesk at $99/mo for 200 minutes.
Is Ruby worth it for contractors?
It can be if a polished human voice wins you jobs, such as high-ticket remodeling or customers who dislike automated systems. For a service shop with many routine booking calls, the $3.45–$5.00 per included minute is hard to justify against cheaper live or AI options.
Does Ruby use AI?
Ruby is human-first. Its pricing page lists optional AI enhancements in all plans at no extra cost, including AI-powered transcripts, sentiment analysis and AI-assistant-supported call flows. Calls are still answered by live receptionists.
Can I keep my number if I switch from Ruby?
Usually, yes. Most answering services work by forwarding calls from your existing business number, so switching means changing where your carrier forwards calls. Test the new forwarding before you end Ruby service.
Ruby vs. PATLive: what's the difference?
Both are live, 24/7 services with Spanish support. PATLive costs less per minute, publishes its overage rates, offers a 14-day free trial and says it doesn't use AI. Ruby is pricier per minute and adds AI tools such as transcripts and sentiment analysis at no extra cost.
Is an AI receptionist a good Ruby replacement?
For routine calls (booking, hours, service area, pricing ranges), AI is far cheaper and never puts callers on hold. For emergencies that need judgment, angry customers or callers who want a person, a live service still does better. Many shops use AI first with a human fallback.
Related
- Smith.ai Alternatives for Contractors: Live Receptionists and AI Answering ComparedSmith.ai alternatives for contractors: Ruby, PATLive, Abby Connect, Rosie, Goodcall, Jobber and BRIX compared on 2026 prices, live agents and booking.
- The Best AI Receptionist for Contractors in 2026: How to ChooseThe best AI receptionist for contractors depends on your software, call volume and need for live backup. Ten options compared on October 2026 prices.
- AI Receptionist vs. Answering Service: Which Is Better for Contractors?AI receptionist vs. live answering service for contractors: real 2026 prices, what each handles well, where each fails, and a simple way to choose.
- AI Receptionist vs. Virtual Receptionist: What's the Difference?A virtual receptionist is a remote human; an AI receptionist is software. Compare 2026 prices, call quality, booking and when each fits a trades business.
- Answering Service Cost CalculatorCompare what your calls cost on published answering service plans: Ruby, PATLive, Smith.ai, AnswerConnect and AI answering. Prices checked October 2026.
- What Is an Answering Service?What an answering service is, how live and AI services work, what they cost per minute or per call in 2026, and how contractors should set one up.
- AI Receptionist for Contractors That Books the Job, Not Just the MessageAn AI receptionist that answers every call 24/7, qualifies the caller and books the job, then carries it through quote, invoice and QuickBooks.
- Is an AI Receptionist Worth It?Is an AI receptionist worth it for your trades business? A break-even formula, real 2026 prices, when it pays off, and when a human is the smarter buy.
- AI Receptionist ROI Calculator: AI vs. Answering Service vs. In-House CSRCompare an AI receptionist, a human answering service and an in-house CSR on your own calls, using published 2026 prices and BLS wage data.
- HVAC Answering Service That Triages, Books and Pages Your On-Call TechAn AI answering service for HVAC that triages no-heat and no-cool calls, screens for gas smells and books the job instead of taking a message.
Sources
- Ruby — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
- PATLive — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
- Abby Connect — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
- Smith.ai — Receptionist pricing (human-first) (checked October 19, 2026)
- Smith.ai — AI Receptionist pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
- Sameday — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
- Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk) — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)