Smith.ai Alternatives for Contractors: Live Receptionists and AI Answering Compared

By BRIX Editorial Team · Updated

Popular Smith.ai alternatives are PATLive, Ruby and Abby Connect for live human answering, and Rosie, Goodcall and Jobber's AI Receptionist for lower-cost AI answering. Smith.ai stands out because it sells both, with AI calls handing off to live North American receptionists, so the right alternative depends on whether you need people on the line.

Key takeaways

  • Smith.ai's AI Receptionist Pro is $150/mo for 75 calls ($2.50 per extra call); its human-first plans start at $300/mo for 30 calls ($11.50 per extra call), checked October 19, 2026.
  • Per-call billing gets expensive for contractors with lots of short calls. PATLive bills by the minute from $99/mo for 50 minutes.
  • AI-only tools such as Rosie ($49/mo for 250 minutes) and Goodcall ($79/mo for 100 unique customers) cost far less but have no humans.
  • Smith.ai is still the better fit if you need live, bilingual-capable people 24/7 with AI as a front door.
  • For field service shops, the bigger question is whether answered calls turn into booked jobs in your system, not just messages in an inbox.

Why do contractors look for Smith.ai alternatives?

The most common reason is how the bill adds up. Smith.ai charges per call, and its human plans add per-call fees for extras: $1.50 per call for calendar booking, $1.00 per call for payment processing and $0.50 per call for each CRM beyond the first. For a plumber getting a lot of short "are you open Saturday?" calls, per-call pricing can cost more than a per-minute plan.

The other reason is fit. Smith.ai's native integrations lean toward professional services (Clio, HubSpot, Salesforce), and its pricing page doesn't mention QuickBooks or field service software. Contractors who want calls booked straight into Jobber, Housecall Pro or their own dispatch board often end up re-keying details.

What Smith.ai costs today

Smith.ai published pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
PlanMonthly priceCalls includedExtra calls
AI Receptionist Free$025$3.00 each
AI Receptionist Pro$15075$2.50 each (lower rates at 150 and 300 calls)
AI Receptionist Enterprise$500300$2.17 each
Human-first Starter$30030$11.50 each
Human-first Basic$81090$10.50 each
Human-first Pro$2,100300$8.50 each
From smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist and smith.ai/pricing/receptionists, checked 2026-10-19. Both are month-to-month. AI plans need 30 days' notice to cancel; human plans offer 10% off for a 12-month subscription and a 30-day money-back offer for new clients.

Quick pick: Smith.ai alternatives compared

Smith.ai alternatives at a glance (published pricing, checked October 19, 2026)
OptionTypeStarting priceBilled byLive humansContract
Smith.aiAI + live (24/7)$150/mo AI; $300/mo humanCallYes, North America-basedMonth-to-month
PATLiveLive only (24/7)$99/mo for 50 minutesMinuteYes; says it doesn't use AINo contracts; 14-day free trial
RubyLive (24/7) with AI tools$250/mo for 50 minutesMinuteYesNot stated on pricing page
Abby ConnectLive, AI or both$164/mo for 50 Abby MinutesMinute (AI minutes count half)YesMonth-to-month; free trial
RosieAI only$49/mo for 250 minutesMinuteNo (live transfer to your team from $149)Cancel anytime; 7-day trial
GoodcallAI only$79/mo for 100 unique customersUnique callerNoNot stated
Jobber AI ReceptionistAI inside field service software$29/mo add-on to a Jobber planFlatTransfers urgent calls to your teamFollows your Jobber plan
BRIXAI office assistant for tradesQuoted per businessQuotedNo live agentsMonth-to-month
Prices from vendor pricing pages, checked 2026-10-19. Jobber plans start at $29/mo billed annually before the add-on. Ruby and Abby don't list a per-minute overage dollar rate.

What 100 calls a month would cost

Per-call and per-minute pricing are hard to compare in your head, so here's one illustrative month: 100 calls averaging 3 minutes (300 minutes), roughly 80 unique callers. Your call length will differ; time a week of calls before you pick.

Illustrative monthly cost: 100 calls, 300 minutes (October 2026 list prices)
ServicePlan that fitsEstimated monthly cost
Goodcall (AI)Starter, 100 unique customers$79
Rosie (AI)Scale, 1,000 minutes$149
Smith.ai AI ReceptionistPro, 75 calls + 25 × $2.50$212.50
PATLive (live)300 minutes$479
Smith.ai human-firstBasic, 90 calls + 10 × $10.50$915
Abby Connect (live)Growth, 500 Abby Minutes$1,380 (200-minute plan is $599 plus unpublished overage)
Ruby (live)500 minutes$1,725 (200-minute plan is $720 plus unpublished overage)
Our arithmetic on published prices checked 2026-10-19. Excludes taxes, add-on fees (such as Smith.ai's $1.50/call booking fee on human plans) and annual discounts.

PATLive: live people, billed by the minute

PATLive is the straightforward human alternative. Plans run from $99/mo for 50 minutes to $759/mo for 500 minutes, with overage between $2.29 and $1.79 a minute on those tiers. Every plan is 24/7, Spanish is included at no extra cost, there are no contracts, and you can try any plan free for 14 days. PATLive says outright that it doesn't use AI to answer calls. Best for: shops whose callers are often stressed homeowners with emergencies.

Ruby: polished live receptionists

Ruby is a premium live service: $250/mo for 50 minutes, $395 for 100, $720 for 200 and $1,725 for 500, with 24/7 answering, Spanish and bilingual handling, and AI enhancements (transcripts, sentiment analysis) at no extra cost. Ruby says it charges no setup or onboarding fees. It's the higher-priced choice per minute; see Ruby receptionist alternatives for the full breakdown.

Abby Connect: mix human and AI minutes

Abby Connect is the closest to Smith.ai's hybrid idea. You buy Abby Minutes ($164/mo for 50 up to $1,380/mo for 500), and each AI minute uses half an Abby Minute, so AI-handled calls stretch your bucket. Plans are month-to-month with a free trial, English and Spanish, and no setup fee or weekend upcharge.

Rosie and Goodcall: low-cost AI answering

If you don't need a human on the line, AI-only services cost a fraction of Smith.ai's human plans. Rosie is $49/mo for 250 minutes, $149 for 1,000 and $299 for 2,000, with a 7-day trial; calendar booking and live transfers start on the $149 plan. Goodcall bills by unique customers instead of minutes: $79/mo for 100, $129 for 500 and $299 for 2,000. Neither has a native field service integration on its pricing page, so check how bookings reach your schedule.

Jobber AI Receptionist: if you already run Jobber

For Jobber users, the $29/mo AI Receptionist add-on is hard to beat on price. It answers calls and texts 24/7, books from your Jobber online booking settings, creates requests, transfers urgent calls on keywords you choose, and texts back callers who hang up. It's included on Jobber's Plus plan. It's only an option if you run Jobber.

BRIX: answering plus the work after the call

BRIX is for contractors who want the call answered and the follow-through handled: the job booked, the estimate chased, the invoice sent and the payment synced to QuickBooks. Unlike Smith.ai, BRIX doesn't put a live human receptionist on your calls, so if your callers need a person every time, Smith.ai, PATLive or Ruby is the better pick.

When Smith.ai is still the best choice

Keep Smith.ai if you want AI as the first answer with real people behind it, all on one account. Its AI calls can transfer to live North America-based receptionists, human plans are staffed 24/7, and a dedicated Spanish line is $1.00 per call. For a restoration or emergency plumbing company where a frightened caller at 2 a.m. needs a calm human, that combination is worth paying for. If your volume is high, ask about its 6-month plan with rollover calls.

Checklist for switching from Smith.ai

  1. 1

    Give notice on the right date

    Smith.ai's AI plans need 30 days' notice; human plans bill through the current cycle. Time your switch to avoid paying twice.

  2. 2

    Export call history and contacts

    Download call logs, recordings and contact details you want to keep, and copy your call script and FAQ answers. They're the fastest way to train the next service.

  3. 3

    Update call forwarding

    Most answering services work by forwarding your business number. Change the forwarding on your carrier and test it during and after business hours.

  4. 4

    Rebuild your emergency rules

    Write down exactly which calls get transferred to you (no heat, active leak, gas smell) and set them up on day one.

  5. 5

    Connect bookings to your schedule

    Make sure booked jobs land in your calendar or field service software, not just an email. See our guide to after-hours call handling.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Smith.ai cost?

As of October 19, 2026, Smith.ai's AI Receptionist Pro is $150/mo for 75 calls with $2.50 per extra call, and Enterprise is $500/mo for 300 calls. Human-first plans are $300/mo for 30 calls, $810 for 90 and $2,100 for 300, with $11.50 to $8.50 per extra call.

Is Smith.ai AI or human?

Both. Smith.ai sells an AI Receptionist billed per call and separate human-first plans staffed 24/7. Its AI calls can be transferred to a live North America-based receptionist, which is its main advantage over AI-only services.

What is cheaper than Smith.ai?

AI-only services are cheapest: Rosie starts at $49/mo for 250 minutes and Goodcall at $79/mo for 100 unique customers. For live answering, PATLive starts at $99/mo for 50 minutes. Jobber users can add AI answering for $29/mo.

Is Smith.ai good for contractors?

It can be, especially for emergency trades that want live people behind the AI. The drawbacks for contractors are per-call billing on short calls, per-call fees for booking on human plans, and no QuickBooks or field service integration listed on its pricing page.

Smith.ai vs. Ruby: which is better?

Smith.ai bills per call and offers both AI and human plans. Ruby bills per minute and is human-first with AI tools layered on. For many short calls, Ruby's minutes may work out better; for longer calls, Smith.ai's per-call pricing may win. Price both against a week of your real calls.

Does Smith.ai have a contract?

No long-term contract. Both its AI and human plans are month-to-month. AI plans require 30 days' notice to cancel, and human plans bill through the end of the current cycle. A 12-month human subscription gets 10% off.

Does Smith.ai integrate with QuickBooks or Jobber?

Its pricing pages don't mention QuickBooks, Jobber or other field service software. They name Clio, HubSpot, Salesforce, Calendly and Zapier. Contractors often connect through Zapier or copy details over by hand.

Sources

  1. Smith.ai — AI Receptionist pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
  2. Smith.ai — Receptionist pricing (human-first) (checked October 19, 2026)
  3. PATLive — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
  4. Ruby — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
  5. Abby Connect — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
  6. Rosie — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
  7. Goodcall — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)
  8. Jobber — AI Receptionist (checked October 19, 2026)
  9. Jobber — Pricing (checked October 19, 2026)

Written by BRIX Editorial Team. Published October 19, 2026. Last updated October 19, 2026.

How we research and update pages: editorial policy.

Let BRIX run the phones and the books.
You run the work.

BRIX answers every call, follows up every lead, sends the quotes and invoices, and keeps QuickBooks tax-ready.

Call now(518) 588-1122Text